A Day in the Life of a 4-Year-Old

0

Hi, I’m Belly! Welcome to a day in my life! My mommy stays home with me while my daddy goes to work, and my big sister, Goose, goes to first grade.

Each day is a little bit different, but here’s how things are most of the time:

7:00 a.m. Morning Routine: 

Time to wake up and get ready for the day! I eat oatmeal and fruit, brush my teeth, get dressed, and then we take Goose to school. My mommy lets me pick my outfits, so I wear a lot of tutus and sparkly dresses!

8:00 a.m. Free Play: 

Mommy likes to start the day with yoga and a shower. I do Cosmic Kids Yoga on YouTube or make a mess in the playroom until she’s done.

9:00 a.m. Learning Activities: 

I’m going to start kindergarten next year, so Mommy is helping me get ready. Every day I practice the alphabet, numbers, and writing my name. We use a lot of books, puzzles, games, and crafts, so it’s always fun!

10:00 a.m. Morning Snack: 

My favorite snacks are granola bars, mangoes, and strawberries!

10:30 a.m. Morning Activities: 

This is when we get out of the house for a little bit. We’ll go to the library, playground, or pick up groceries and run errands. If we decide to stay home, I love baking muffins with Mommy and walking to the goose pond.

12:00 p.m. Lunch: 

For lunch, Mommy heats up leftovers from dinner and we eat together in the kitchen.

12:30 p.m. Relaxation: 

When we’re finished eating, mommy works on her blog in the office and I have relaxation time. I stopped taking naps when I was two, so I’ll just play quietly or watch TV. During the week, I can only pick shows that make my brain stronger.

2:00 p.m. Pick Up Goose: 

Waiting in the school carline feels like forever! I bring a few books and toys and sing with Mommy to pass the time.

3:00 p.m. Afternoon Snack: 

When we get home, we eat grapes and crackers and listen to Goose talk about what she did at school. I love hearing about her day!

3:30 p.m. Free Play:

On days that we don’t have gymnastics or ballet class, we spend the afternoon playing! Goose and I disagree sometimes, but we do our best to be kind to each other. Some days we’ll run around outside and other days we’ll hang out in the playroom. My sister is super duper creative and we like making art projects, too.

5:00 p.m. Clean Up and Relax: 

While Mommy does chores and gets dinner ready, Goose and I clean up the playroom. If we finish quickly, we get to watch TV until it’s time to eat dinner.

6:00 p.m. Dinner: 

Daddy comes home right about now, and we all have dinner together in the dining room. My favorite meals are pizza and veggie dogs, but mommy and daddy always make sure to offer me lots of vegetables.

7:00 p.m. Nighttime Routine: 

Daddy helps me and Goose take showers, put on pajamas, and brush our teeth while mommy cleans up the kitchen and dining room. When she comes upstairs, we choose books to read and have family storytime. This is the best part of the day!

8:00 p.m. Bedtime: 

Now it’s time to turn off the lights and let my body rest. I am so tired! Mommy checks on me every 15 minutes, but I’m usually asleep by the second time she comes in.

Thanks for joining me on my day! Is your day similar?

Previous articleGuide To Columbia Area Pumpkin Patches
Next articleTo All the Moms of Strong-Willed Children
Tasheena is a California native who moved to Columbia in the Fall of 2018. She has been married to her college sweetheart since 2013 and together they’re raising two feisty little girls. Tasheena has a Bachelor of Arts degree in Elementary Education with a minor degree in Child and Family Science. She worked as a kindergarten teacher until her second daughter was born in 2017 and she transitioned to life as a stay-at-home mom. Although being home full time has its challenges, she loves being her girls’ first teacher and experiencing the world their eyes. Tasheena enjoys yoga, impromptu dance parties, exploring the community, solo trips to the grocery store, and sharing pieces of her life on her blog, The Cinnamon Mom. With so many transplant families in Columbia, she hopes to share a newcomer’s perspective and connect with more mommies in the area!

LEAVE A REPLY

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here